The Digital Vanguard 4.8.2024

Android updates, and my thoughts on solar

Your eyes and ears on the techscape

Android Updates

It’s true that I am a bit of an apple fanboy, but there is no doubt that Android has done some things over the years that have impressed me. These upgrades seem like they will be fantastic. Better Security, Better Lost device Support and even some satellite communications. I’m not ready to switch, but I like it.

Talk to other humans like AI….

I’ll be honest I’m still not sure if this article was meant to be a joke, but there are some helpful hints in there.

Huge AT&T Leak…

By huge I mean 73 million which includes 64 million former customers. So don’t think that just because you switch companies your information is safe. It’s just not.

One of the fears is this…

No one likes to be lied to, but it’s even worse when you are supposed to be able to trust that source. We expect that when we are using a chatbot that we are going to be getting correct information. But it seems that this is exactly what was happening in NYC. Now don’t blame the bot, blame the maker. I would have to back this up by warning everyone to document everything. I can’t be the only one who has an ongoing word document of all my conversations with Spectrum…. am I?

I am really interested in small scale solar.

I live in an older house with an older AC unit and a roof that frankly faces the wrong direction. I am still interested in solar, but I think that my answer may be different. I would like to set up small independent systems. This panel and battery run the lights in the living and bathroom, which are the ones that are on the most.

There is no doubt that if/when I build my house that I will think of this differently, but for now I don’t want to spend thousands on systems that allow the power company to dictate my future. But tell me your experience.

I am available for conversations about your IT if you need anything please reach out below.